Thread: Webinar: Running online internship programs: successes and challenges

Started: 2020-10-18 22:04:17
Last activity: 2020-10-18 22:04:17
Last chance to sign up for the webinar about UNAVCO’s experiences running online internship programs in summer 2020.

NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
Running online internship programs: successes and challenges https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/online_internships/index.html
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

Webinar Registration https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/online_internships/registration.html Deadline: Monday October 19, 2020

As with many other activities, summer internship programs needed to turn to an online format to continue during pandemic shutdowns. This webinar will overview challenges encountered and successes achieved in three UNAVCO internship programs held online in summer 2020. The lessons learned can inform future efforts that use online or hybrid models and community-building strategies during online teaching.

UNAVCO redesigned their programs to successfully launch Geo-Launchpad, Research Experiences in the Solid Earth Sciences for Students (RESESS), and the UNAVCO Student Internship Program (USIP) to remote platforms, ensuring continued access to education, career advancement, monetary stipends, and community connections for the involved undergraduate and graduate students. This webinar will overview the online communication tools used, strategies for facilitating online programs, and the evidence-based outcomes assessed by an external evaluator. For well over a decade prior to 2020, these internships provided unique in-person opportunities for students from underrepresented populations to develop their technical and communication skills while aiming to broaden participation in the Earth Sciences.

Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD (she/her)
UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
prattsitaula<at>unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org


04:56:23 v.01697673