Thread: Webinar (Wednesday, April 13) and Publication on MTH5: A Standard Data Container for Magnetotelluric Time Series Data

Started: 2022-04-11 10:25:11
Last activity: 2022-04-11 10:25:11
Topics: Webinars
An international collaboration led by the Incorporated Research
Institutions for Seismology (IRIS) and the U.S. Geological Survey has
developed MTH5, a hierarchical data format (HDF5) with a comprehensive
metadata standards for MT time series data. MTH5 allows an entire MT
survey to be contained in a logical format described with metadata in a
single file that can be efficiently read directly from memory. These new
resources for magnetotelluric (MT) time series data and metadata have
the potential to better support findability, accessibility,
interoperability, and reusability (FAIR) data principles that are
becoming increasingly relevant to new geophysical data acquisition. We
plan to continue to refine and document these tools, incorporating
feedback from the user community, into a robust open-source product
available to a broad base of users.

Jared Peacock (USGS) will provide an introduction to MTH5 on Wednesday
4/13 at 3 PM UTC / 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT as part of the regular MTNet
webinar series:
https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_BHIbI3eHRBmJBBc8lOCSwA

More info on MTNet is available at https://www.mtnet.info/main/

The Computers and Geosciences publication describing MTH5 may be
accessed here, free to all, until May 22, 2022:
https://authors.elsevier.com/c/1erYfMMTPl0-u

The related MT data and metadata standards and repositories for MTH5 are
documented and listed here: https://mt-metadata.readthedocs.io/en/latest/

--
Andy Frassetto, PhD, Seismologist
MT Program Manager
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology


11:46:45 v.b1cd4f60