Thread: Workshop on numerical methods for earthquake and tsunami simulation, January 2018

Started: 2017-10-09 19:26:46
Last activity: 2017-10-09 19:26:46
*Call for Abstracts *

2nd ASCETE Workshop ( on advanced numerical methods
for earthquake and tsunami simulation

January, 30th - February 2nd, 2018
Berghotel Sudelfeld
Bayrischzell, Germany

This workshop focuses on the numerical simulation of earthquakes and
tsunamis on large-scale HPC infrastructure. Keynote lectures will cover
seismic cycle modelling, earthquake physics, tsunami propagation and
efficient implementations on modern HPC architectures.

Workshop participants are invited for short oral presentations and evening
poster sessions. The workshop is dedicated to researchers at all levels, in
particular to th interested in the combined simulation of earthquakes and
We will present the methods developed in the scope of the ASCETE project to
all interested participants.

Participation is limited due to the venue: the country-style hotel is
located directly at Bavaria's largest skiing area Sudelfeld.

Confirmed keynote speakers:
Sylvain Barbot, Earth Observatory of Singapore, Singapore
Omar Ghattas, University of Texas, Austin, USA
Takane Hori, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Kanagawa,
Gabriel Lotto, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
Shuo Ma, San Diego State University, San Diego, California, USA
Mario Ricchiuto, Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest, France

Please submit an abstract (max. 200 words) before *Friday, October 27, 2017*
indicate whether you would prefer an oral or a poster presentation. There
is a
limited amount of places for the workshop, so submitting an abstract does
necessarily secure a spot for the workshop. You will be notified on whether
not you have been granted a place by Friday, November 10, 2017.

Further information and abstract submission details can be found at:

Best regards,

on behalf of the organizers:
Iris van Zelst (ETH Zürich)
Stefan Vater (University of Hamburg)
Michael Bader (TU Munich)
Jörn Behrens (University of Hamburg)
Ylona van Dinther (ETH Zürich)
Alice-Agnes Gabriel (LMU Munich)

13:36:40 v.28f29ea9