Thread: Webinar: (Suddenly) Teaching Geoscience Online

Started: 2020-03-26 09:51:27
Last activity: 2020-03-26 09:51:27
Topics: IRIS EPO
Beth Pratt-Sitaula
2020-03-26 09:51:27
(Suddenly) Teaching Geoscience Online
April 1, 2020 NAGT Webinar
1 pm PT | 2 pm MT | 3 pm CT | 4 pm ET

Description: Many instructors are being asked to teach online for the first time with little advance notice. This webinar provides a rapid introduction to the elements of successful online geoscience teaching from a panel of seasoned online instructors. It will also overview available (and growing) resources for teaching geoscience online -- including both pedagogy and content elements. The webinar's five panelists have more than 50 years of combined online teaching experience. They will give advice from known best practices and personal experience on the topics of: planning & strategy, materials presentation, student engagement, and assessment. After brief presentations from each panelist and SERC/NAGT professional development leaders, the webinar will be open to questions from the participants.
Although the panelists for this webinar teach at the college and university level, many of the resources and strategies are relevant to secondary-education level too.

The webinar is free, but registration is required. The registration deadline is March 30th - https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/suddenly_online/registration.html
You will receive webinar access information a day or two before the webinar takes place. We will also post recordings of the webinar on the webinar page.
https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/suddenly_online/index.html

We invite you to check out all of the webinars available through the NAGT Webinar Series. https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/index.html

Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD
UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
prattsitaula<at>unavco.org <prattsitaula<at>unavco.org> | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org http://www.unavco.org/

07:18:39 v.22510d55