Thread: NAGT Webinar: Science Communication for Social Justice

Started: 2020-08-24 08:17:35
Last activity: 2020-08-24 08:17:35
Beth Pratt-Sitaula
2020-08-24 08:17:35
NAGT Webinar: Science Communication for Social Justice https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/social_justice/index.html
Thursday, August 27, 2020
10:00am PT | 11:00am MT | 12:00pm CT | 1:00pm ET

Register now https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/social_justice/registration.html Deadline Tuesday, August 25

Geoscience communicators have a particular responsibility to promote an ethical, diverse, inclusive culture across the geosciences, while consciously increasing access to geoscience information to all sectors of the public. We can and must start to make thoughtful, meaningful changes in who presents information, what we present, and how we present it. We will share some ideas and examples of how to produce media to engage with diverse audiences, tips for amplifying the voices of diverse scientists on social media and in mass media, and developing educational materials explicitly created using a justice, equity, diversity, inclusion and accessibility lens.

Presenters: Beth Bartel (formerly UNAVCO), Wendy Bohon (IRIS)

Part of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) webinar series


Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD (she/her)
UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
prattsitaula<at>unavco.org <prattsitaula<at>unavco.org> | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org http://www.unavco.org/


17:19:15 v.01697673