Thread: COMET+ Webinar - Xueming Xue and Connor Drooff - 3 February, 4 PM UK time

Started: 2021-01-29 01:17:10
Last activity: 2021-01-29 01:17:10
Topics: Webinars
Dear Colleagues,

COMET (The Centre for Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes, and Tectonics) invites you to the first installment of our new COMET+ webinar series, viewable from anywhere. It'll be on Wednesday the 3rd of February 2021, at 16:00 UK time/11 AM Eastern time/8 AM Pacific/7 AM Alaska. It'll be on the topic of subduction tectonics and volcanism, specifically within the setting of Alaska and the Aleutian arc.

Our tour guides will be two AWESOME researchers from the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Michigan State University, Xueming Xue and Connor Drooff. Their talks (probably 20-25 minutes each) will be:

Connor: “Slip and Slip Deficit: The M 7.8 July 2020 Simeonof Earthquake and Interseismic Coupling of the Aleutian Megathrust”
Xueming: "A 25‐Year History of Volcano Magma Supply in the East Central Aleutian Arc, Alaska”

Please register at: https://universityofleeds.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_p0oGdt0dR0-asMXzWhex7A

The COMET+ webinar series aims to promote research collaborators of COMET scientists, particularly early-career researchers and those from under-represented groups. The goal is to provide a platform for these researchers to showcase their work to large and international audiences, opening doors to broader collaborative networks and enhancing the community’s diversity of backgrounds and ideas. Typically, COMET+ webinars will likely be split between two (or more) researchers.


Thanks very much, and we hope you can join us!

Best wishes,
Tamarah King & Chris Rollins
COMET - Centre for the Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tectonics

https://comet.nerc.ac.uk/
@NERC_COMET
COMET webinars on youtube
22:17:48 v.22510d55