Thread: (Reminder) COMET Webinar: Dr. Pui Anantrasirichai, 12 May, 16:00 UK time

Started: 2021-05-12 03:08:48
Last activity: 2021-05-12 03:08:48
Topics: Webinars
Dear Colleagues,



Just a reminder about our COMET webinar at 4 PM UK time tomorrow. We look forward to seeing you there!



Monitoring volcano deformation using InSAR data and machine learning

Dr. Pui Anantrasirichai (University of Bristol)

Wednesday the 12th of May 2021 at 16:00 UK time (3pm UTC / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT)



Please register at: https://universityofleeds.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_DxYfAgfHQBiuPZYgMc_QNQ



(After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information on how to join the webinar)



Abstract:

Interferometric synthetic aperture radar (InSAR) can be used to measure ground displacement over large geographic areas. However, while detecting deformation using InSAR images is conceptually straightforward, it is difficult to automate, particularly in volcanic regions as atmospheric water vapor is a particular challenge.



In this talk, a simple but efficient deep learning framework to detect ground deformation will be present. The model can be applied to individual interferograms for rapid deformations and can be tested on time-series for slow and sustained ones. The image processing techniques employed in the framework will also be discussed. Finally, the current detection results on global Sentinel data processed via LiCSAR system will be shown.



Best wishes,

Tamarah King & Chris Rollins

COMET - Centre for the Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tectonics

https://comet.nerc.ac.uk/

@NERC_COMET

COMET webinars on youtube



Chris Rollins

School of Earth and Environment, University of Leeds
05:35:10 v.2078d232