Thread: COMET Webinar: Dr Ruth Amey, University of Leeds, 20th Oct 2021, 4PM UK time

Started: 2021-10-18 01:01:47
Last activity: 2021-10-18 01:01:47
Topics: Webinars
Dear Colleagues,

COMET (The Centre for Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes, and Tectonics) invites you to the next installment of our COMET webinar series, viewable from the home office.

Using Satellites to Inform Seismic Hazard and Risk Estimates in Central Asia
Wednesday 20th October 4pm UK time (3pm UTC / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT)

Dr Ruth Amey
University of Leeds, UK

Please register at: https://universityofleeds.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1ACW2n1IRbCPjYzA4slImw

(After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information on how to join the webinar)

Abstract:
Many cities around the world are potentially at risk from earthquakes due to buried faults that have been hidden by the expansion of the city. In this talk, I will show how high-resolution satellite imagery can be used to identify potential faults that may pose risk to cities in Central Asia. I will show the potential hazard and losses to Almaty, Kazakhstan, and Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, for specific earthquake scenarios by using the Global Earthquake Model’s OpenQuake Engine.

Catch up on past COMET and COMET+ webinars on our YouTube page: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtFDytX1hgjvlS4NH48M2oQ/videos

Best wishes,
Tamarah King & Chris Rollins

COMET - Centre for the Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tectonics
https://comet.nerc.ac.uk/
@NERC_COMET
12:52:11 v.22510d55