Thread: AGU Session S017 - Microseismicity and fault slip: observations, modeling and experiments

Started: 2022-07-25 14:49:20
Last activity: 2022-07-25 14:49:20
Topics: AGU Meetings
Dear Colleagues,

We would like to invite you to submit an abstract to our session on microseismicity and fault slip at the AGU 2022 Fall meeting in Chicago. The deadline for abstract submission is Wednesday, August 3rd.

Session link:

S017: Microseismicity and fault slip: observations, modeling and experiments

Session description:
Together seismic and aseismic slip consumes the total fault slip budget and the slip mode partition is imprinted in its microseismicity. The spatiotemporal evolution and statistical characteristics of microseismicity can reveal the complex fault zone architecture and multiple physical processes involved in fault slip. However, several processes remain enigmatic. How do swarms relate to aseismic slip in different tectonic environments? What is the interplay of seismic and aseismic slip along heterogeneous faults? How does this vary over time? Recently, novel microseismicity analysis and advanced monitoring systems have allowed us to resolve high-resolution physical processes of fault slip, fault zone architecture, and material properties.

In this session, we welcome submissions of novel microseismicity analysis approaches; interdisciplinary observations of fault structure, fault slip, and microseismicity; short and long-term studies of spatiotemporal changes in fault slip modes and mechanical properties at different tectonic settings; and theoretical developments from numerical modeling and laboratory experiments.

Invited speakers for the session include:
Pierre Dublanchet (MINES ParisTech, PSL Research University)
Jessica Hawthorne (University of Oxford)

This year’s AGU format will again be hybrid, so presentations can be given online remotely. First authors can submit up to two contributed abstracts in two different sections.

We look forward to seeing you (either in person or virtually) in Chicago!

Jianhua Gong, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Heather R Shaddox, University of California, Berkeley
Eric Beaucé, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Yifang Cheng, University of California, Berkeley
20:19:49 v.ad6b513c