Thread: Physics-Based Forecasts Modelling Community (30th April, 17:00 CEST/11:00 EST/8:00 PST/00:00 JST)

Started: 2020-04-23 13:36:56
Last activity: 2020-04-23 13:36:56
Topics: Webinars
Physics-Based Forecasts Modelling Community (30thApril, 17:00 CEST/11:00 EST/8:00 PST/00:00 JST)



A series of online meetings is now starting to discuss the challenges behind the development and testing of physics-based forecast models. The purpose of the calls will be to discuss practical issues (e.g. standard formats) but most importantly exchange ideas about current practices and future directions of research.



How much different is physics-based forecasting since the 1992 Landers earthquake? Which advances made are critical for our collective progress?



We will occasionally invite scientists outside of the forecast community (e.g. source modellers, geodesists, earthquake catalog developers etc) to join the discussion by giving a short presentation for subjects that are critical to forecast model development. We want to hear from them on the challenges they face but also share with them how our research can showcase their work!



The calls will take place every 2-weeks starting Wednesday, 30thon 17:00-19:00 CEST using a Zoom link that will be provided shortly.



We all hope that this will be an exciting series of exchanges! If you are interested in participating, or you have any questions, please send an e-mail to Margarita Segou at msegou<at>bgs.ac.uk

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This email and any attachments are intended solely for the use of the named recipients. If you are not the intended recipient you must not use, disclose, copy or distribute this email or any of its attachments and should notify the sender immediately and delete this email from your system. UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) has taken every reasonable precaution to minimise risk of this email or any attachments containing viruses or malware but the recipient should carry out its own virus and malware checks before opening the attachments. UKRI does not accept any liability for any losses or damages which the recipient may sustain due to presence of any viruses. Opinions, conclusions or other information in this message and attachments that are not related directly to UKRI business are solely those of the author and do not represent the views of UKRI.

10:55:21 v.eb79165e