Thread: NAGT Webinar: Mentoring Undergraduates: Techniques And Best Practices For Guiding The Next Generation Of Scientists

Started: 2022-01-17 07:11:07
Last activity: 2022-01-17 07:11:07
Topics: Webinars
Mentoring Undergraduates: Techniques And Best Practices For Guiding The Next Generation Of Scientists https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/mentoring_undergrads/index.html
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Registration Deadline is Monday, January 24, 2022
Register now https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/mentoring_undergrads/registration.html
Presenters
Anika Knight , UNAVCO Geoworkforce Associate & Diversity Specialist

Webinar Description
Establishing a mentoring relationship typically falls upon the mentee, which can leave individuals who could benefit the most (non-traditional & first generation students or individuals from marginalized groups) out in the cold. As educators and potential mentors what can we do to bridge the gap, and ease the burden? Graduate programs require students to have advisors and committees, which can provide multilayered mentoring. How can we establish a similar relationship with undergraduate students? During this webinar we will cover techniques and best practices for establishing, maintaining, or improving mentoring relationships with undergraduate students. While the topics covered will directly target undergraduate mentors they may also be useful for those working with high school or graduate students.

Webinar goals
During the webinar you will:

Methods of identifying potential mentee's
Learn how to establish a mentoring relationship with guidelines and goals
Gain insights into mentoring in a hybrid/online environment
Logistics
Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar  https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/webinars/accessing_webinar.html.
Questions? Please contact Bradlee Cotton (bcotton<at>carleton.edu <bcotton<at>carleton.edu>) if you have any questions about this event.


Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD
UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager II
prattsitaula<at>unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org


11:26:25 v.b1cd4f60