Thread: Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching Landslide Analysis to Undergraduates: Planning for Failure and a Safer Society

Started: 2020-03-19 07:21:09
Last activity: 2020-03-19 07:21:09
Topics: IRIS EPO
NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
Teaching Landslide Analysis to Undergraduates: Planning for Failure and a Safer Society https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Mar/index.html
Thursday, March 26, 2020
12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

Webinar Registration https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Mar/registration.html deadline: Tuesday March 24, 2020

How can geoscientists identify and quantify landslide events using remote sensing data? Introduce your undergraduate students to quantitatively analyzing a variety mast wasting signatures in the landscape.

This webinar introduces instructors to Planning for Failure: Landslide Analysis for a Safer Society https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/teaching_materials/landscape_change/index.html teaching module from the GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI)  http://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/index.htmlproject. In this module students learn to do geospatial modeling by developing landslide susceptibility maps in ArcMap. They then apply their findings to making mitigation recommendations to reduce societal risk.

Presenter will include insights from teaching this module online.

The module is appropriate for a variety of majors-level Earth and environmental science courses.

Online teaching module and webinar are free!


Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD
UNAVCO Science Education Specialist
prattsitaula<at>unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org


05:02:19 v.01697673