Thread: COMET+ webinar - Asst. Prof. Endra Gunawan - Fri 28th May 2pm UK time

Started: 2021-05-23 20:59:50
Last activity: 2021-05-23 20:59:50
Topics: Webinars
Dear Colleagues,

COMET (The Centre for Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes, and Tectonics) invites you to the next instalment of our COMET+ webinar series, viewable from the home office.

Coming up:
Present-day Crustal Deformation of Java, Indonesia, using GPS data: Challenge and Opportunities for Research Activities

Friday 28th May 2021 at 2pm UK time (1pm UTC / 3pm CEST / 8pm Western Indonesia time / 6am PDT)

Asst. Prof. Endra Gunawan
Bandung Institute of Technology, Indonesia

Please register at: https://universityofleeds.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_z75jSI-LQACFW2XeacB9wQ
(After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information on how to join the webinar)

Abstract:
As one of the most populated islands in Indonesia, research on active tectonics in Java is still lacking. Furthermore, other than the destructive 2006 Yogyakarta earthquake, there were no other significant earthquakes that occurred and damaged cities in Java.
Nonetheless, active inland faults in Java exist from west to east of Java with slip rate varied between 1-6 mm/yr. Notice that those recent scientific findings suggest that the active inland faults are through big cities in Java, such as Jakarta, Semarang and also Surabaya. Subduction zone located in southern Java is also prone to future megathrust earthquakes.
In this seminar, we are going to share those scientific findings and discuss the present-day crustal deformation of Java based on GPS data. In addition, we will also discuss some issues related with the challenge and opportunities of conducting research in this particular region.

The COMET+ webinar series promotes research by collaborators of COMET scientists. We aim to provide a platform for these researchers to showcase their work to large and international audiences, opening doors to broader collaborative networks and enhancing the community’s diversity of backgrounds and ideas.

Catch up on past COMET and COMET+ webinars on our YouTube page: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtFDytX1hgjvlS4NH48M2oQ/videos

Best wishes,
Tamarah King & Chris Rollins

COMET - Centre for the Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tectonics
https://comet.nerc.ac.uk/
@NERC_COMET
13:14:46 v.f0c1234e